Personal injury protection (PIP) explained
- Wednesday, 18 March 2015 18:37
If you’re going to operate a motor vehicle on the roadways in Oregon, the law requires you to carry personal injury protection (PIP) as part of your mandatory minimum liability insurance coverage. PIP can help in paying reasonable and necessary medical expenses that are connected with an accident, so long as they were incurred within one year from the date of the accident. Every liability insurance policy issued in the State of Oregon is required to include $15,000 of personal injury protection.
What PIP pays
Medical expenses falling under the purview of PIP include but aren’t limited to hospital and surgical bills along with prosthetic devices. PIP will even pay for childcare expenses up to $750 so long as you were hospitalized for over 24 hours. For essential services around your home, PIP pays up to $30 per day for up to 52 weeks. Wage loss is covered of you’re out of work for 14 consecutive days after the accident as a result of your injuries. It pays up to 70 percent of the lost wages at a maximum of $3,000 per month for 52 weeks. For funeral services within one year of the date of accident, PIP will pay up to $5,000.
How PIP works
A determination is made by the insurer as to whether the expenses were reasonable and/or necessary. Service providers, including doctors and hospitals, either bill you or the insurer directly. If they bill you, then you’ll submit the bill to your insurance company for payment. The law requires the insurer to respond to every claim within 60 days.
Who is covered with PIP?
All occupants of your vehicle are covered if you’re involved in an accident. All family members who are residents of your household are also protected. PIP protection doesn’t include motorcycles, mopeds or vehicles that are being used for commercial purposes like delivering pizzas. If you’re a pedestrian or bicyclist, you can claim under the PIP coverage of the person that hit you.
When medical bills are higher than PIP coverage
There are times when an injured person will continue to need medical care and treatment after the $15,000 of PIP coverage has been exhausted. You’ve been seriously injured. That’s when you really need to talk to us.
If you or a family member who has been in an accident has questions about your PIP coverage, don’t hesitate to contact us. We’re pleased to take a few moments to answer your questions.